Posted by: thedailycrazy | January 12, 2009

13Jan09 – Alphabet World

Just close your eyes and hope you don't get A for Afghanistan

Just close your eyes and hope you don't get A for Afghanistan

There are a lot of countries in the world. I would like to visit them all, but where to go next? I have a cunning plan.

The plan is this. Each year I pick a letter of the alphabet. In that calendar year I have to visit every country that begins with that letter, excluding the countries I have already visited.

It is not the most efficient way of travelling the world I admit. ‘B’, for example, would necessitate visits to countries as far apart as Brazil, Bhutan and Burundi. However, it throws up some beautiful contrasts and I am excited just thinking about it!

Two questions for you.
1. Has anyone ever done this before?
2. Should I abandon any financial security, annoy the hell out of my employers and pick the first letter from a plate of alphabetti spaghetti on toast?

Responses

  1. Nice blog – gave me few laughs anyway – keep it up 🙂

  2. This sounds like an interesting way to see the world. I say go for it.

    A more cost effective way may be to draw the letter and then put all the countries with that letter in a hat and draw two or three…

    • Good idea SJ – although the thought of putting alphabetti spaghetti in my hat…. maybe I could just write the countries down!


Leave a Reply

Categories

